Settling plant

Agricultural recovery of WATER: in partnership with farmers

 

Going beyond legal and regulatory requirements, the staff at the dairy always work to minimise the impact of activities on the countryside as far as is possible, while recovering as much effluent and waste as possible. One example demonstrating this is the agricultural recovery of water used in production…

There is no question of piping waste water to the purification plant at Saint-Père-en-Retz: the company has its own settling plant.  The water is filtered and aerated before the decanting stage; all treatment processes are completely natural using no added chemical products“

(Emmanuel Duval, Environmental Manager)

After treatment, the water contains fertilising compounds and is therefore useful in agriculture.

We keep the treated water in a storage basin until it is needed for irrigation, generally in March and November.  When the time arrives, and by agreement with the farmers in question, we spray the water on their fields, taking into account the requirements of each one and the crops grown on it. To achieve this we have around a hundred water outlets connected to the storage basin by a 30 km network of buried pipes”.

At the end of each spraying season, the dairy’s Environmental department establishes a statement of the contributions made to each plot, which is sent to the farmers, to DREAL and to the Water Agency.

The storage basin can contain up to 106,000 m3. The spraying zone itself covers 529 hectares, or more than 700 football pitches just like the one in Saint-Père-en-Retz! For the farmers involved, the provision of fertilising compounds represents a significant saving and helps to develop a system of sustainable agriculture.

Station de lagunage

La valorisation agronomique de l’EAU : en partenariat avec les agriculteurs

 

Au-delà du cadre légal et réglementaire, les équipes de la laiterie agissent pour réduire au minimum l’empreinte de l’activité sur le territoire, tout en valorisant au mieux les effluents et déchets. La preuve par l’exemple, avec la valorisation agronomique des eaux utilisées pour la production…

« Il n’est pas question d’envoyer ces eaux sur la station d’épuration de Saint-Père-en-Retz : l’entreprise dispose donc de sa propre station de lagunage. L’eau y est filtrée puis aérée, avant l’étape de décantation ; le traitement est totalement naturel, sans aucun apport de produits chimiques »

(Emmanuel Duval, responsable Environnement)

Après traitement, l’eau contient des éléments fertilisants et à ce titre,  présente un intérêt pour l’agriculture.

« Nous conservons l’eau traitée dans un bassin de stockage en attendant la période propice à l’arrosage, en général de mars et novembre. Le moment venu, en accord avec les agriculteurs concernés, nous procédons à l’épandage de l’eau sur les parcelles convenues, en tenant compte des besoins propres à chacune, selon la culture qui s’y développe. Nous disposons pour cela d’une centaine de bouches hydrantes, toutes reliées au bassin de stockage par un réseau de tuyaux enterrés de 30 km ».

Au terme de chaque saison d’épandage, le service Environnement de la laiterie établit un bilan des apports réalisés pour chaque parcelle, à l’attention des agriculteurs, de la DREAL et de l’Agence de l’eau.

Le bassin de stockage peut contenir jusqu’à 106 000 m3. La zone d’épandage, quant à elle, couvre une surface de 529 hectares, soit plus de 700 terrains de football identiques à celui de Saint-Père-en-Retz ! Pour les agriculteurs concernés, ces apports d’éléments fertilisants, représentent une économie non négligeable et participent au développement d’une agriculture raisonnée.