Marion Martin

Research and Development (R&D): “transforming ideas into products

Testimonial of Marion Martin, assistant to the service manager

The R&D department at Laiterie Saint-Père has 5 members of staff: an operator (holding professional qualifications in Process Engineering), two project managers (from engineering colleges), a department manager and his assistant, Marion Martin, also a project manager.

We conduct applied research into the development of new products and upgrading existing products: either we create a recipe from A to Z in order to meet the requirements of the customer or to propose a new product, or we upgrade recipes to obtain a different texture, to respond to changes made by competitors, to replace one ingredient with another or to facilitate the manufacturing process… “

As such, in a single day the R&D staff may be working on cream deserts, butter or milk… “Each time the goal is different; each time we need to reinvent, test and create until our customer is satisfied with the proposed samples.  This is always inspiring and highly diversified: no one day is like another, everything is always changing “.

In order to run projects smoothly from the initial idea to commercialisation of the finished product, the R&D department collaborates with all other departments of the dairy: “R&D work cannot be done alone in a laboratory! We are in constant contact with production, maintenance, quality, logistics, procurement and marketing etc. this is what makes our job interesting”.

In her capacity as an assistant, Marion Martin also manages the day-to-day activities of the team and coordinates the various projects, depending on the priorities for the department.

parcoursWith a scientific background, Marion Martin discovered the Laiterie Saint-Père in 2004 during an internship at the end of her degree; she was then studying at the Enetia College of Engineering in Nantes (now called Oniris). “I came back a few years later, after gaining professional experience at another dairy“.

profilGood listening and teamwork skills. Autonomy. The ability to formulate proposals and coordinated projects. Rigour and the ability to conduct regulatory and technological surveillance. Creativity inspired by a strong desire to watch market trends. Intellectual curiosity. A love of fine food is a plus.

« We are lucky enough to have a pilot system available, a dedicated line on which we can test our recipes ».

Marion Martin

Recherche et développement (R&D) : « transformer des idées en produits »

Témoignage de Marion Martin, adjointe au responsable du service

Le service R&D de la Laiterie Saint-Père compte cinq personnes : un opérateur (titulaire d’un bac professionnel Génie des procédés), deux chefs de projets (issues d’écoles d’ingénieur), un responsable du service et son adjointe, Marion Martin, également chef de projet.

« Nous faisons de la recherche appliquée au développement de nouveaux produits ou à l’évolution de produits existants : soit nous créons une recette de A à Z pour répondre au besoin d’un client ou lui proposer une nouvelle référence, soit nous faisons évoluer une recette pour obtenir une texture différente, répondre à une évolution de la concurrence, remplacer un ingrédient par un autre, faciliter la fabrication… »

Ainsi, dans une même journée, les équipes R&D peuvent travailler sur une crème dessert, un beurre, un lait… « A chaque fois l’objectif est différent ; à chaque fois, il faut réinventer, tester, créer, jusqu’à ce que notre client soit satisfait des échantillons proposés. Dans tous les cas, c’est passionnant et très diversifié : pas une journée ne ressemble à une autre, ça change tout le temps ».

Pour mener à bien les projets, de l’idée initiale jusqu’à la commercialisation du produit fini, le service R&D collabore avec l’ensemble des services de la laiterie : « faire de la R&D, ce n’est pas travailler tout seul dans un laboratoire ! Nous sommes en contact avec la production, la maintenance, la qualité, la logistique, les achats, le marketing, etc. C’est aussi ce qui fait l’intérêt de notre mission ».

En sa qualité d’adjointe, Marion Martin assure également la gestion de l’équipe au quotidien et coordonne les différents projets, en fonction des priorités du service.

parcoursDe profil scientifique, Marion Martin a découvert la Laiterie Saint-Père en 2004, à l’occasion de son stage de fin d’étude ; elle était alors élève de l’école d’ingénieur Enitiaa à Nantes (aujourd’hui Oniris). « J’y suis revenue quelques années plus tard, après une première expérience professionnelle dans une autre laiterie ».

profilSens de l’écoute et du travail en équipe. Autonomie. Capacité à formuler des propositions et à coordonner un projet. Rigueur et capacité à assurer une veille réglementaire et technologique. Créativité alimentée par un goût avéré pour l’observation des tendances des marchés. Curiosité intellectuelle. La gourmandise est un plus.

« Nous avons la chance d’avoir à notre disposition un outil pilote, une ligne dédiée qui nous permet de tester nos recettes grandeurs nature ».